The new gardening season …

… started for me already in January and February this year, long before the lockdown was imposed. I have acquired some bags of garden soil, planting boxes and all the seeds before the lockdown. Now it is much more complicated.
Nevertheless, I ran out of larger plant containers. I was able to order different planting bags through a well-known internet shop. Some of them are no longer available at the moment. It is the first time that I use these bags. I am very curious about the results.

On the following photos you can see the plants which I have either sown in seed trays or directly in plant pots in the garden.

Potatoes
We discovered years ago that potatoes came out automatically near our composter again and again. This year I bought a small bag of seed potatoes in the garden centre and planted them at the same place.
The bigger plants on the photo are from the compost. My seed potatoes have already caught up well. Maybe I planted a bit too much on the small area. We will see.

20200409_113253

In addition, I put 3 potatoes each in 2 of the seed bags to compare this with the potatoes that grow in the soil.

Sweet potatoes
As written in a previous article, I had no success with sweet potatoes last year. This time I want to do it better and have decided on the method in which the shoots of a sweet potato are first rooted and then transplanted.

These plants are intended for our real vegetable garden at the holiday home. Furthermore I will plant some plants in these 2 bags here in town and compare the results at the end of the summer.

Onions
This year I am using plant bulbs and I hope to be more successful with this method than with the seeds that did not work for me last year.
I took a little off our small lawn and planted 3 small rows of bulbs. I also filled a plant bag with a dozen of red bulbs.
At the holiday home I planted a lot more onion bulbs, because we have a lot of space there (check out my next article “Optimizing the vegetable garden …”).

20200325_173525

Berry bushes
We have planted many berry bushes at the holiday home (raspberries, blueberries, black, red and white currants).
For comparison purposes with our town garden, I have created some space in the front garden and on the west side of our house and planted raspberries, gooseberries and strawberries.
We planted the 2 currant bushes on our property in the Landes in autumn. They have almost never carried currants; perhaps they carry more in the Landes.

Garlic
The garlic put in a container and in the ground last October is doing well. The cloves of garlic in the ground develop more slowly, but they are catching up.
I have also planted garlic in various places around the holiday home and it is developing wonderful.

20200325_173544

One thought on “The new gardening season …

  1. Pingback: Optimization of the vegetable garden -Part 1 | Holiday Home for Family and Friends

Leave a comment